Activism meets Web 2.0

Rethos.comSeems like activists are catching on to the power of web 2.0. I assume most of the readers here are familiar with Avaaz.org and their emails calling on people to sign petitions and send emails to representatives. Their method is rather conventional however and (dare I say) dated.

Good news. Rethos.com has opened up their beta to the public and aim to create a social environment for change, on a system that learns from its users. Users can read, post and share news articles, get organized, find jobs an opportunities, all in the name of change. Whether you care about ecology, human rights, freedom of speech or other issues, Rethos will let users work together for change on these points. I myself signed up because of them saying the following:

It is our duty to not let others turn a blind eye to pressing social and environmental issues. If enough people unite, change is inevitable.

This is exactly the way I felt when I was posting about Burma like 3 times a day (psst… the monks are protesting again). I hope this convinces you and you will sign up and come and add me as a friend. What really did it for me however, was their video. Have a look at it below.

So sign up now and visit my profile.

2 Responses

  1. Yeah Avaaz is a bit annoying, signing me up for their newsletter automatically and stuff.
    I’ll look into Rethos.

    Bas, do you think that online activism has the same weight as IRL (in real life) activism? Can it be a replacement of? It seems to me that politicians can more easily ignore 10s of 1000s of blogposts or emails than 10.000 people shouting on their doorstep.

    Digitally protesting is more easy but is it as effective? Any thoughts on that?

  2. I think the web is a good way to organize and stay/keep others informed.

    Real activism happens on the streets though. Although mailing panties to Burmese authorities is a good example of “guerrilla activism” (to draw a parallel with guerrilla marketing).

    And you can’t stop a law from being passed if you’re only willing to protest on the internet, but you can get more people to recycle through the internet.

    It just depends on what you want to achieve.

Leave a Reply

